Miami United FC to Host Armada FC in U.S. Open Cup

The Second Round match will take place May 17 at Ted Hendricks Stadium in Hialeah, Fla.

The Jacksonville Armada FC will begin play on May 17 in the Second Round of the 2017 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup against the Miami United FC of the NPSL. The match will take place in Hialeah, Fla. at Ted Hendricks Stadium and kickoff is set for 7 p.m.

The Miami United FC (NPSL) advanced to the Second Round Wednesday after a 2-1 victory over Boca Raton Football Club. Matías Menza of Miami United scored the first goal early in the seventh minute. Boca Raton answered in the second half with one goal but Miami’s Nacho Calcagno netted the final in the 87th minute to give Miami United the win.

The U.S. Open Cup match will mark the first meeting between Armada FC and Miami United. If applicable, broadcast information will be announced once confirmed.

In 2016, the Jacksonville Armada FC won 2-1 in the Third Round of the U.S. Open Cup against the Charleston Battery. The team advanced to play in the Fourth Round against Orlando City SC, but lost 1-0.

FC Dallas is the defending U.S. Open Cup champion, having earned the club’s second tournament title thanks to a 4-2 victory against the New England Revolution on Sept. 13, 2016, at a sold-out Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas.

This year’s winning team will receive $250,000, a berth in the 2019 CONCACAF Champions’ League and have its name engraved on the historic Dewar Challenge Trophy, one of the oldest nationally contested trophies in American team sports. The runner-up will earn $60,000, while the team that advances the furthest from each lower division will take home a $15,000 cash prize.

The Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, recognized as U.S. Soccer’s National Club Championship, is an annual competition open to all amateur and professional soccer teams affiliated with U.S. Soccer. The tournament has crowned a champion for 103 consecutive years dating from 1914. In 1999, the competition was renamed to honor American soccer pioneer Lamar Hunt.




First Round                  May 9-10 (PDL, NPSL, Open Division clubs enter)

Second Round             May 16-17 (NASL and USL clubs enter)

Third Round                 May 31 (Winners of 26 Second Round games play each other)

Fourth Round               June 14* (Major League Soccer clubs enter)

Round of 16                 June 28* (matches determined by Round of 16 Draw on June 15)

Quarterfinals                July 11 (window of July 7-16 available for consideration)

Semifinals                    Aug. 9*

Final                             Sept. 20

* Games in this round may be moved up a day



About the Jacksonville Armada FC

The Jacksonville Armada FC is a professional soccer team and member of the North American Soccer League. The other NASL member teams are FC Edmonton, Indy Eleven, Miami FC, New York Cosmos, North Carolina FC, Puerto Rico FC, and San Francisco Deltas. For more information about the Armada FC, visit  Follow the Armada FC on Twitter @JaxArmadaFC and Facebook at

Share with:

FacebookTwitterGoogleTumblrLinkedInEmail this page